Prior Authorization Training – National Board of Prior Authorization Specialists, a division of ACMA, the #1 Leader in Pharmaceutical Training

Official Prior Authorization Certification for
healthcare and life science professionals

  • Become a leader in Prior Authorization
  • Reinforce experience and upskill
  • Be best in class
  • Enhance patient access

Become a Prior Authorization Certified Specialist™

PACS™ - Transforming Patient Access and Advocacy

Be More Than an Authorizer

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist (PACS) graduates are expanding patient access, advocating for better patient outcomes, and leading the reimbursement and access industry.

  • Establish Yourself as an Expert in Prior Authorization
  • Increase your effectiveness while making a difference
  • Demonstrate mastery of the prior authorization and payer landscape of the healthcare system

The path to becoming an exceptional reimbursement and access professional starts with PACS.

The Authority on Prior Authorization

What you need to know about PACS™

  • It’s the only accredited certification program for prior authorization and payer policies recognized in the industry
  • Created for prior authorization specialists by prior authorization specialists with experience in PBMs, payers, pharma, and healthcare
  • ACMA established the industry standard with the PACS certification - ensuring a minimum competency for authorizers

Take the first steps towards achieving the gold standard in the healthcare and life sciences industry.

Why Should I Become Certified in Prior Authorization?

Earn the recognition of achieving the standard of excellence among reimbursement professionals
Prior authorization certified specialist professionals are leaders and subject matter experts among their reimbursement peers
Prior Authorization Certified Specialists demonstrate a commitment to patient access and better outcomes
Higher pay
Certified professionals earn higher pay compared to other professionals in the field

How was the PACS™ developed?

Several Advisory board meetings held with leaders and subject matter experts.

ACMA received IACET accreditation, whose processes helped us build a rigorous curriculum.

Prior authorization certified specialist program designers developed content using psychometric analysis to ensure that graduates are held to the highest standards of learning and assessment.

Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program established standards for knowledge, technical skills and professional practice for those working within the payer landscape.

ACMA works with experts from PBMs, payers, pharma, and healthcare to develop the newest and best content for the prior authorization certified specialist curriculum.

Content is always updated to reflect new business practices, technologies, market challenges and regulatory changes.

PACS™ Graduates From Over 200 Companies

Compare PACS Programs

Prior Authorization Basic Training Program (BASIC)
Price $899 USD
Duration 1-2 Months
Length 12 Modules
Prior Auth beginners
What You Get
Certificate of Completion
Prior Authorization Certified Specialist Program (PACS)
Price $1199 USD
Duration 1-2 Months
Length 12 Modules
Certification Exam Included
Reimbursement, MD, PharmD, and PhD Professionals
What You Get
Certification for use in professional designation
Did you know?

Certified Healthcare Professionals earn 24% more than their uncertified colleagues.

The PACS Certification demonstrates that professionals have met rigorous standards through intensive study, self-assessment and evaluation. Achieving the PACS demonstrates the highest standards of knowledge, and excellence in the prior authorization field.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program a certificate or a certification?

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist Program (PACS) is an official certification accredited by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training/ American National Standards Institute (IACET/ANSI). ACMA is also a member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence.

More program info

Who developed the Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program content?

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program (PACS) content was developed by over 30 subject matter experts from academia, managed care, benefit managers, health plans, and experts from the pharmaceutical industry.

Do I need to maintain my certification?

Every 3 years you are required to maintain your certification. You can do this by either (1) completing 10 hours of continuing education credits approved by the ACMA or (2) taking the exam.

Do you offer payment options/plans?

Yes. The ACMA offers a flexible payment plan where you can pay in 3 easy installments. Additionally, you can use PayPal credit if you qualify.

See payment info

Do you offer scholarships? How can I apply for a scholarship?

ACMA is proud to offer scholarships to all of our eligible enrollees. Please contact us for more information, or view the scholarships information page.

Scholarship info

How long does the program take to complete?

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program (PACS) takes on average about 10-12 hours to complete. It is self-paced, so everyone will be different. Once you enroll in the PACS program, you have up to 6 months to complete it.

Did we miss your question?