PACS™ The Badge of Excellence

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist (PACS™) certification is the first and only accredited certification for prior authorizations, access, and reimbursement in the world.

Achieving the PACS™ demonstrates the highest standards of knowledge and excellence. It also sets the stage for continual professional development through values centered on lifelong learning.

As a PACS™ certified professional, you must meet specified requirements to maintain and renew your certification every three (3) years. Maintaining your certification is essential as a professional.


Why should I recertify as a PACS™ professional?

Elevate your skills and reinforce experiences with certification
Enhance your professional growth and career prospects
Become a member of the PACS™ community
Make a difference in the lives of patients

What are the benefits of maintaining my certification?

  1. Specialization in a growing field

    Be recognized as an expert in a growing industry.

  2. Salary Increase

    Give yourself better odds for better pay when you earn an accredited certification tackling a tough industry.

  3. Graduate Network

    Gain opportunities to network with your prior authorization peers from across the healthcare industry.

  4. Continuing Education

    Raise the standards for your industry through accredited certifications, knowledge checks, and more.

Requirements for renewing your PACS certification:

The PACS™ credential is valid for three (3) years. To keep your certification active, there are two paths:

Recertification Option 1 : Completing ten (10) hours of continuing education modules provided by the ACMA and successful quiz completion of each module

Recertification Option 2 : Retaking and passing the exam

Additionally, an annual yearly attestation is required for either of the above paths.

The cost for recertification is $299 USD.

To recertify with option 1, choose ten (10) hours of continuing education from the following courses:
(Note each course is equivalent to 2 CEs. You must choose at least 5 courses from the list below to maintain your certification).

  • Pharmacy Mobile Applications & Resources

  • Patient Centricity

  • Social & Behavioral Pharmacy

  • Diversity in Clinical Trials

  • Rare Diseases

  • Prevention of Prescription Drug Fraud Waste and Abuse

PACS™ Recertification

  • To begin your recertification, log into the ACMA online portal

  • On your dashboard under available courses find PACS™ Recertification courses

  • Choose either course option 1 or option 2

  • Continue to payment