FAQs-v2 – Prior Authorization Training

Become a Prior Authorization Certified Specialist™

To enroll / purchase for PACS program please head over to ACMA Marketplace. For assistance, please email us at info@priorauthtraining.org

Certification is becoming an important factor in the healthcare industry in general.

The Prior Authorization Certified Specialist program is the first of its kind in the world. This course was created by a panel of experts with a range of experience from every role involved in the Prior Authorization process. This allows for you to gain valuable access to inside global knowledge and expertise from provider’s offices, pharmacies and Insurance plans that has never been exposed. Becoming certified will allow you to become an expert in your field, distinguish yourself, and become a leader with great potential of career growth.

Studies have shown that individuals who are certified in their field have higher salaries and better promotion opportunities.

Please visit our PACS Benefits Page to learn more about how becoming a prior authorization certified specialist can help advance your career.

The PACS™ content was developed by over 30 subject matter experts from academia, managed care, benefit managers, health plans, and experts from the pharmaceutical industry.

Every 3 years you are required to maintain your certification. You can do this by either (1) completing 10 hours of continuing education credits approved by the ACMA or (2) taking the exam.

Yes. The ACMA offers a flexible payment plan where you can pay in 3 easy installments.

More payment info

ACMA is proud to offer scholarships to all of our eligible enrollees. Please contact us for more information, or view the scholarships information page.

More scholarship info

PACS is an official certification accredited by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training/ American National Standards Institute (IACET/ANSI).

The PACS™ program takes on average about 10-12 hours to complete. It is self-paced, so everyone will be different.

Once you enroll in the PACS program, you have up to 6 months to complete the program. Because the entire program is online, you can work at your own pace & comfort level to complete the program. If you require an extension, you will need to make a written appeal to our chief academic officer who will make the final decision. There may be a fee associated with extensions granted.

Once you are accepted, you will receive confirmation and instructions via email. The program learning content can be accessed on an online, Learning Management System.

For those individuals who successfully pass the exam, It will be a PACS professional designation. For example, John Doe, PharmD, PACS or Jane Smith, CPC, PACS

The examination is of low to intermediate difficulty. It is meant to assess your core competencies in the areas covered within the PACS program.

The candidate can take the exam anywhere, anytime. The final certification exam is available on the program’s Learning Management System (LMS). The exam tab will be enabled once the candidate has completed all module quizzes and the candidate will be able to begin the exam at any time. All of the instructions on how to begin the exam will be available on the examination page in the LMS.

The exam is offered asynchronously. That is, the candidate may sit for the exam anytime, anywhere as long as the candidate has access to the PACS program’s Learning Management System (LMS).

The PACS exam can be taken up to 4 times before needing to file a new application. If a candidate fails the exam on the fourth try, there will be a waiting period of 1 year before retaking the exam up to four more times, and a reexamination fee of $250.00 USD.

Results will be available within 3-5 business days via email.

You will receive a result of Pass or Fail. In order to protect the integrity of the PACS program, neither the exam questions nor the answer key will be released to any individual or organization.

Did we miss your question?